Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Meetings are held on the first and third Thursday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in City Council Chambers, 809 Center Street, Santa Cruz, CA.


The Planning Commission of the City of Santa Cruz will advise City Council on matters pertaining to land use after receiving public input. The Planning Commission will be final decision maker for certain land use actions unless appealed to the City Council.


The Commission consists of seven members. Membership, term of office, and procedures for removal of members and the filling of vacancies shall be as established by City Ordinance or by the City Council. Members will be qualified electors of the City of Santa Cruz pursuant to 2.40.011 of the Municipal Code and City Council Policy, Section 5.

Prospective members shall file an application in the office of the City Clerk. The City Council will appoint members to the Planning Commission by an at-large vote.

Term of office for each member shall be four years. A member may be appointed to complete an unexpired term. A Member may continue to serve until his/her successor has been appointed.

Staff Contact:

Alex Khoury, Acting Director
Planning Department
809 Center Street, Room 206  
Santa Cruz, CA 95060


Want to contact a Planning Commissioner? Please send your request by email 

 Signup to receive email notices for future Historic Preservation Commission meetings; go to eNotifications page and check the Planning Commission box.