COVID-19 UPDATE | The City is coordinating closely with our public health officials at the Santa Cruz County Health Department to prevent the further spread COVID-19. In an effort to protect you and our community, changes and measures have been adopted in daily operations and activities. For further details please click here for the City’s Response to COVID-19

Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


More News

Meeting Information


Planning Commission meetings are held on the first and third Thursday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in City Council Chambers, 809 Center Street, Santa Cruz, CA.

LIVEFEED: There are a number of options to watch a livefeed. If you are having trouble with audio or visual we recommend you try each of the following options: 

  1.  "Live" link below during meeting hours. 
  2.  CTV webpage

Archived Videos: You can watch past Planning Commission meetings in several ways, including:

  1. Video Link Below: After the meeting has closed, what once read as a "LIVE" meeting will read "VIDEO" once the meeting is complete. Click the link for the meeting date you wish to watch.
  2. City of Santa Cruz Youtube Playlist 
  3. CTV Video On Demand



Past Meeting Agendas & Minutes

For Planning Commission meetings before 8/17/2017, please submit a Public Information Request. 

Meeting Bylaws

About the Commission: 

The Commission consists of seven members. Membership, term of office, and procedures for removal of members and the filling of vacancies shall be as established by City Ordinance or by the City Council. Members will be qualified electors of the City of Santa Cruz pursuant to 2.40.011 of the Municipal Code and City Council Policy, Section 5.

Prospective members shall file an application in the office of the City Clerk. The City Council will appoint members to the Planning Commission by an at-large vote.

Term of office for each member shall be four years. A member may be appointed to complete an unexpired term. A Member may continue to serve until his/her successor has been appointed.

Submitting Public Correspondence for Planning Commission Meetings

If you would like to connect with the Commission regarding an upcoming agenda item, please email Some agenda items, such as Significant Projects, have their own dedicated webpages where you can comment online. At this time, the online commenting feature is not available for all agenda items. When in doubt and you want to connect with the Commission, please email 

Appeal Procedures

Appeals may be filed in accordance with City Municipal Code 24.04.180 through 24.04.183.

A written notice of appeal, together with the appropriate fee , except development projects which are appealable to the Coastal Commission where no fee will be charged, must be received by the city clerk not later than ten (10) calendar days following the date of action from which such appeal is being taken, unless otherwise specified in Code Section 24.04. If the final day for filing an appeal occurs on a weekend day or holiday the final filing date shall be extended to the following workday.

Coastal Permits: Projects that require a Coastal Permit are appealable to the California Coastal Commission after all possible appeals are exhausted through the City. 

Contact the Commission 

Stay Connected!

Sign up for our email list and stay up to date on upcoming meetings and agenda topics.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer