COVID-19 UPDATE | The City is coordinating closely with our public health officials at the Santa Cruz County Health Department to prevent the further spread COVID-19. In an effort to protect you and our community, changes and measures have been adopted in daily operations and activities. For further details please click here for the City’s Response to COVID-19

Arts Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The seven-member Arts Commission was established in 1977 to advise City Council on policies which enhance the aesthetic and cultural quality of life in the City of Santa Cruz. Appointed by the City Council, commissioners are volunteers who share a strong commitment to the arts. The Arts Commission provides policy guidance to the City Arts program.

To learn more about the Arts Commission, City Arts programs and to take a virtual tour of the City's public art, go to

The Arts Commission meets 7-8 times a year on the second Wednesday of the month at 6:00 p.m. in City Council Chambers, 809 Center Street, Santa Cruz, CA. Summer and winter recesses occur and may vary year to year. The City Calendar has the most current schedule of meeting.


The Commission consists of seven members who are appointed by the City Council. Current members:

  • Louise Leong, Chair
  • Sean McGowen, Vice Chair
  • Elizabeth Birnbaum
  • Janina Larenas
  • Yvonne Byers
  • Linda Cover
  • Marilyn Kuksht

Additional Information

Arts Commission Meeting & Agenda Information 

Agendas are posted on the City Calendar. To view upcoming meeting information click here

Contact Information

Kathryn Mintz
Acting Arts Programs Manager 
337 Locust Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Sign-up to receive email notices for future Arts Commission meetings; go to eNotifications page and check the Arts Commission box.

Accessibility of all online Advisory Body agenda packets, minutes and audio files is now available from any Advisory Body web page to enable easier public access to posted meeting information. 

Should you have questions please contact City Clerk Administrator at (831) 420-5035. 


Arts Commission Meetings